| |
Sun |
— |
11am-2pm
(Closed in Summer) |
|
| |
Mon |
— |
Closed |
|
| |
Tues |
— |
10am-5pm |
|
|
Wed |
— |
10am-5pm |
|
|
Thurs |
— |
12pm-7pm |
|
| |
Fri |
— |
10am-5pm |
|
| |
Sat |
— |
10am-2pm |
|
|
|
Island Free Library,
P.O.B. 1830,
Block Island,
RI 02807
Phone: 401.466.3233
Fax: 401.466.3236
circ@islandfreelibrary.org
|
|
|
| |
|
|


Island Free Library Catalog & Databases
Island Free Library Catalog
(Ocean State libraries)
- Click the link above to go to the Island Free Library's card catalog. From this card
catalog you can search for books, place holds, renew books, and confirm due
dates. To access your account you need your library card number.
HERITAGE
QUEST ONLINE
LEARNING EXPRESS
- Whatever your goal, Learning Express Library's resources will help you
succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises,
skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you
want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an
entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for
you.
Access Learning
Express
MANGO LANGUAGES
- Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn
languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German,
Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian, and more!
Access
Mango Languages
REFERENCE USA
- The premier source of business and residential information for reference
and research.
Access Reference USA
WORLD BOOK
EBSCO REFERENCE DATABASES
- The Ebsco Reference Library includes the following:
|
 |
Novelist Plus
NoveList
is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews,
annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. It also
includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author
Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles.
For school media specialists and teachers there are Standards-Based
Thematic Units and Picture Book Extenders, as well as specific teaching
guides for using fiction in the classroom.
Start
searching this collection. |
 |
EBSCOhost Web
EBSCOhost is the world's foremost premium research database service
with premium content in ever subject area; includes Alt Health Watch,
Newspaper Source, EBSCO Animals, and more.
Start
searching this collection. |
 |
Auto Repair Reference Center
|
This database includes step-by-step
procedures that are written specifically for the Do-It-Yourselfer,
but comprehensive enough for professional technicians. Auto Repair
Reference Center contains information on most major manufacturers of
domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most
vintage makes starting as far back as 1954. New repair procedures
and updates will also be added continuously. |
Start
searching this collection. |
 |
Consumer Health Complete
This
full text database is designed to support consumer and patients’ information
needs as well as foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Consumer Health
Complete is the
single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. CHC
provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream
medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated
medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer,
diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, men’s & women's
health, and children's health.
Start
searching this collection. |
 |
Student Research Center
EBSCO's Student Research Center makes it
easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful
search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines,
reference books, photos, flags, etc.
Start
searching this collection. |
 |
Kids Search
Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to
find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source
type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
Start
searching this collection. |
 |
Salud en Español
(Consumer Health Complete in Spanish)
This
full text database is designed to support consumer and patients’ information
needs as well as foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Consumer Health
Complete
is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health
content. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from
mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and
integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging,
cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, men’s &
women's health, and children's health.
Start
searching this collection. |
Coin Career Library
This database offers a comprehensive information resource to career and
college research. Users can explore interests and aptitudes to match
their interests to occupational and education prospects. Career
Library also provides resources to practice tests and skills, build resumes
and plan for technical, military or professional jobs.
Start searching this collection
Literary Reference Center
A comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of
information on thousands of authors and their works across literary
disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for
public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and
undergraduate research.
Start searching this collection
Points of View
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of
essays the present multiple sides of a current issue. The database
provides more than 270 topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint,
and Critical thinking Guide. Topics covered include:
affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure,
immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response,
nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing,
stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines and many more.
Start searching this collection
Searchasaurus
Three popular elementary and middle school databases (Primary Search,
Middle Search Plus, Book Collection: Nonfiction) can be accessed via
Searchasaurus. This database is an exciting and easy way for young
researchers to experience online searching. It is an animated
interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and
develop basic search methodologies. Students will be riveted by the
colorful, animated interface, complete with erupting volcanoes and a
dinosaur guide as they gather information on a wide range of topics.
Searchasaurus offers Lexile limiters (reading level), making it easy for
students to read and research only appropriately challenging materials.
Start searching this collection
|
|
|
|